Our Board of Directors is elected by the public, from divisions, by all voters within the district. They serve a four-year term and the terms are staggered so that every two years either two or three Director’s seats are on the November General Election ballot.
Board of Directors

Director, Division 1 – Joseph B. Sasia

 Joseph Sasia was elected to the Board of Directors in December 2022. 

Vice President, Division 2 – Jonathan Hall

Jonathan Hall
Jonathan Hall was elected to the Board, short-term in 2006. He ran for a full-term position in 2008 and 2012 and was re-elected. Mr. Hall represents the District as a Board member for the Association of Water Agencies/Joint Powers Insurance Authority. Mr. Hall is a retired software engineer for military defense communications.

Director, Division 3 – John M. Ables

John Ables was appointed to the Board of Directors in February 2023. 

Director, Division 4 – Rick Zanutto

Rick Zanutto
Rick Zanutto was appointed to the Board of Directors in December 2016 and was elected in 2018. Mr. Zanutto has lived in Kern County for 42 years and has been a resident of Bear Valley for 10 years. He served on the Board of Directors of the Bear Valley CSD for eight years and he held the seat of President of the Bear Valley CSD Board for 3 ½ years. He also served as chair of numerous committees. Mr. Zanutto retired from 22 years in the farming business and 31 years as Production Manager of the second-largest printing facility in Kern County.

President, Division 5 – Robert W. Schultz

Robert Schultz
Robert W. Schultz was elected to the Board of Directors in December 2018. Mr. Schultz is a third-generation Tehachapi resident and lives in Brite Valley with his wife and kids. He attended Cal Poly San Luis Obispo to study Civil Engineering & Business Finance. He graduated with a B.S. in Business Finance and has owned his own cinema audio & engineering company since 1995. Mr. Schultz also owns irrigated farm properties in Tehachapi and operates a registered/commercial Black Angus cattle herd. He has volunteered his time in Tehachapi as a science coach, member of Cummings Valley School Site Council, and volunteers regularly for various positions in local youth sports.

Board Packages

Archive (Coming Soon)

Meeting Minutes

2024 Minutes

2023 Minutes

2022 Minutes

2021 Minutes

2020 Minutes

2019 Minutes

2018 Minutes


2024 Resolutions

2023 Resolutions

2022 Resolutions

2021 Resolutions

2020 Resolutions

2019 Resolutions

2018 Resolutions

Skip to content